De/Ap Preciation

In my last post you were introduced to the Elite Trade Group, a local and quite large alliance with some interesting members.

They are somehow fun to fly against, especially when they fail. And with fail I don’t even mean that they don’t kill anything but how they kill something.

Today was one of those … interesting moments. I flew Ash down into their dead end constellation looking for a good fight or at least a juicy target. When I entered the last system, there was a Myrmidon at the gate. Apparently waiting for me.

Against my better judgement I left the system after a while of jumping between my bookmarks and there they were. While on the outgoing side only Myrmidon and a decloaking Arazu waited, on the other side were multiple Interceptors and Cruisers and some more stuff, altogether about eight to nine guys.

I burned towards the gate, hoping the Arazu wasn’t at the gate and with just a few armor plates left I jumped through. The Myrmidon had left, but instead there was a Harbinger and said Arazu.

I was quickly pointed and a non ETG Thorax entered the scene. They quickly stripped me off my remaining hull and I warped my escape pod to the nearest belt.

That’s the way they normally do it, so I won’t criticise it (although I want to avoid blobbing for myself and my corporation …).

Well. After a short chatter in local, where they tried to be cool and divided the loot of my Vexor in local chat (although I think this itself is stupid enough to be noted here), I got two conversations.

The first one came from the Harbinger, non ETG, (EDIT!) who more or less apologized for blobbing me – he had told them [his ETG friends] ‘not to blob me’.

Phew. Why is someone in an alliance that uses methods, he doesn’t like? I won’t understand that anyways, so don’t try and explain.

Second invitor was the Thorax pilot, apparently blue to the ETG. Guess what he did? Yes, he said he doesn’t like blobbing. Same comment from me to this…

So, as résumé: Why is ANYONE  member of a corporation or alliance whose methods he doesn’t appreciate?

Discussion opened.

9 Comments

  1. My guesses would be they had a recent policy change in their alliance, or have some reason not to speak up to the right persons about it. Could be a myriad of other things as well.

    Things like that make me happy to lead a small corporation with a clear code of conduct. Alliances seem such a headache.

  2. I think a big part of it is that people don’t intend to blob you – but when people keep showing up, it’s a bit silly to kick them off and say ‘no, you can’t be included’. For a small corp pvp corp, it’s no big deal to avoid blobbing since people are always off by themselves or in small groups. For a larger alliance with a more sedentary population, at any given time there’s a dozen people just spinning ships or ratting who rarely pvp but want to get in on killmails whenever the opportunity lands on their doorstep.

    • I am not speaking of the random gank when you are in a fleet. I am speaking of entering a dead end constellation – entering = clear.

      And when you leave the gate is camped – just for your tiny Vexor ;)

      That’s what sucks most imho.

      And to blobs in general: Well, just dont take everyone with you on a roam. Say: “We have room for 7 guys, the first 7 Xs in channel are in the fleet”.

      :P

  3. I can understand them camping when they see one of us ;) They prolly set us on red, since we both already pissed them off ^^

    But when 3 Guys jump you and afterwards two of them apologise for blobbing, that’s just silly. Do it or don’t, but feeling sorry afterwards is crap. Nothing else.

    Why someone is in an Alliance, that blobs, when he himself doesn’t like it? In this Case I think, they’re just not organized enough in the PvP-Section. They’re prolly more for the carebearing and the little PvP they do is more casual, so they won’t have much Guidelines there…

    However, i’ll continue to roam their space in my Rifter. I still have something to settle with this Myrm ^^

  4. Since when did fights have to be fair?

    • I suoppose you misunderstood me, Mr-I-dont-want-to-give-my-ingame-name.

      I wrote, that I personally don’t like unfair fights cause ganking itself is no fun. I didnt write that fights have to be fair. I hope, you see the difference, even as tiny as it is. :)

  5. ” I think a big part of it is that people don’t intend to blob you – but when people keep showing up, it’s a bit silly to kick them off and say ‘no, you can’t be included’. For a small corp pvp corp, it’s no big deal to avoid blobbing since people are always off by themselves or in small groups. For a larger alliance with a more sedentary population, at any given time there’s a dozen people just spinning ships or ratting who rarely pvp but want to get in on killmails whenever the opportunity lands on their doorstep. ”

    This, exactly. Well, this, between being hot dropped. Genesis sucks for targets.

  6. Agreed with Odeskypher. Just because a “one man army” comes wandering into an alliance guarded territory, does not mean said man should be excluded from the full wrath of said alliance. Put in the finest of quotes:

    “You call it overkill… I call it efficiency!”

    Besides, the other alliances around Genesis tend to fight the same way – single red enters system, tackles blue, red fleet jumps in / hotdrops capital fleet on one blue ship.

    Apparently around Genesis, blob is the new solo. I just like to think of it as “flying… with friends”.

  7. Well, I have apologized to foes for blobbing as well. For example when I solo against someone, and a random militia fleet/roam shows up and opens fire on him. That has happened before. Or when I solo someone with help on standby in case his friends show up. Local spikes with red, I call in help, red leaves, help has opened fire on original target, good fight is ruined.

    Yes, we do this “help on standby” thing including not showing up when it stays 1v1.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

