Fun Without Success

Nalshee and my humble self used yesterday to practise our skills in being blobbed. Nal in his Maller – I don’t say his new Maller, because nearly every Maller he flies is just bought – and myself in Incursus.

My hungry scanner soon found a Vexor in belt, ratting. Or stealing from wrecks, didn’t take the time to further investigate that matter.

I settled into a quite tight orbit and put my scram and web on the shiny little cruiser while Nal was still aligning at his safe. I waited for a flight of Warriors or Hobgoblins to come and well, I got a bunch of Hammerheads.

Reacting by far too slow I tried to gain range, overheating almost everything I had, and watched the drones tearing apart my nimble frigate’s few armour plates. Next time I should probably try a further orbit with max speed … though a afterburner might still be too slow to evade good skilled Hammerheads.

But I did my tackling duty and the moment I exploded Nal appeared in the belt and immediatly tackled the Vexor, now tearing it’s armour apart. The trimarked Vexor didn’t stay alife too long. While Nal looted in a quite slow fashion an Ares came down on him and tackled him. It didn’t dare to come into short range – Nal’s double web would’ve killed the Interceptor quite fast I suppose – but waited for his support to arrive at the scene.

And the blob came. They even brought a battleship – damn, I didn’t know a Maller is this fearsome … Of course Nal went pop and with him all the shiny loot from the Vexor. We grabbed our pods and quickly went back to our home.

And while chatting in voice three things became clear to me, to us. Three things I want to state as kind of principles for Corpse Collection Point [the corp in this case], just so you know:

We don’t need success to have fun.

That’s probably the most important of the three things: fun is more important than success. Success is a viable method to obtain fun. But it is not a condition.

As I wrote in an earlier post, fun is the key to EVE. And only fun, though the definitions of ‘fun’ may differ from person to person. One may assume that fun is about amassing mountains of money and goods. Others may assume that fun is about amassing kills – those with green numbers.

I say: fun is social. Fun isn’t bound to any numbers or statistics, although those can support fun. Nal and I had a damn good way home after we were blown to bits. The stars shuddered from our loud laughter, resembling from planets and moons.

The reason was … I think there was no particular reason to have fun. We just had it. Isn’t that was fun is about?

Earlier I had a short chat with Ken Plante from Eternal Perseverance (sorry if I failed at writing it right, why do you guys have to have such a complicated name?): basically I was critisized for flying insignificant ships. And basically Ken delivered a quite good speech on how good EP actually are (not to mention he said quite the same the last time we chatted and the time before that). Fighting solo or even outnumbered always. Winning nearly everytime. Flying only the best available on free market.

I don’t want to call it the ‘usual talk’ of a quite narcissistic person. I really have to admit, that they’re fantastic pvpers. They do have skills. They probably do have ‘balls’ – although I never came to test it, as I am only flying in small gangs.

I don’t like this kind of elitist thinking. It makes you not only unattractive to others but even a bit unsocial, if I am allowed to say that. You know. There are fans looking up to you but never reaching you. And there are those who are as good as you but just figure it out. And somewhere in between are those guys that belong to those mostly small elitist corps.

But I also have to admit I like(d) the thought of being part of such an elitist corp. I even tried joining EP once. But as things became clearer I learned that’s not really what I am looking for. If you’re looking for the best of the best, in the common meaning, you’re wrong with us. We can offer only honest fun. Meaning:

We’re not the elite of EVE.

One thing I like about EP, although they tend to emphasize it too much, is the fact they fight very small scale:

We try to not blob.

Not to blob is probably the hardest thing for a pvp corp to do. The tackler got an Cruiser in belt and but you’ve a dozen BS in gang? Shall eleven of them wait?

I say yes.

I know how we all want to get on every killmail but I think we have to try to be stronger than this – be abstinent! I am trying this myself, and I can say you: it’s as hard as nothing else. Waiting while your friends are killing and probably looting good stuff is cruel.

But it’s worth it. You enjoy every good fight, and every good kill you make even more.

As last words: live your life the way you think you should.

9 Comments

  1. Hehe, there go the 70% minimum efficiency :D

  2. I like your approach, Ash!
    As for Incursus vs Vexor, why not close the orbit instead and pick those drones one by one? Or were you trying to evade the web?
    And my 2 cents on EP: yes, they don’t blob, but they still tend to go for overkill and prefer camping stations in battleships and capitals. They might laugh at our frigs, but if we’re having fun, why should we care?

    • Because in close range orbit i am not able to fly full speed. The guns of the Vex were by far not my problem … but its drones. On volley and I was in armour. Next volley in deeper armor. Oh, finally, a rep cycle :P

      I tried picking off the drones but didnt even kill one.

      • That’s weird: you should be able to hit them hard. Did you web the drone you were shooting?

        • Of course. ^^
          But when the first drone was somewhere near structure I popped already. You must know, I dont have any tank on this incursus.

          • Sorry, hadn’t checked the killboard. A plate would have been better, of course.

          • Hmm, checked EFT, a plate would be better but not much better. I guess you just can’t kill off Vexor’s drones in a T1 frig.

        • Mh, no further replying? Okay, gonna do it here, then. ^^

          Well I personally dont like the plated Incursus, I had more success with the repped one, especially against other frigs (interceptors :P)


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

